More News Reports of Actions

Update: Since I first posted this just a few minutes ago, the White House Press Office has now posted all the executive actions. Needless to say, I am pleased. That makes some of what I said below obsolete.

Today, January 24, 2017, there are numerous news reports of more executive actions taken by POTUS 45. I have to say I am encouraged by the attention the news media are giving to them. One of my concerns when I started this blog was the fact that, generally speaking, executive orders and other presidential actions were not widely covered routinely.

We are in the very early days of this administration, so at some point, some other “shiny object” may well divert the attention of the media, and future actions will again go unreported, but for now the coverage is better than I expected.

It is still too early to conclude the White House Press Office will not be posting these actions in a timely fashion to the White House Website, as was done by the Obama staff, but the fact the site has not changed at all since the first day is not a good sign.

As I said in a post yesterday, finding full texts before they are published in the Federal Register is very difficult without the White House site postings. So, I have decided to save myself the time and trouble of attempting to find full texts in media reports, and just wait for them to appear in the Federal Register. That will mean I will be less timely in my reviews, but a delay of a few days should not create any significant problems.

Leave a Reply

